Faculty

The following faculty members are all involved in teaching and/or research in various aspects of sustainability. Although by no means exhaustive, this list can serve as a starting point for students seeking out advising and faculty members searching for collaborators. If you are not on this list and would like to be included, please send us an email at sus@nd.edu.

Peter Bauer
pbauer@nd.edu
Electrical Engineering
Hybrid vehicle technology

Gary Belovsky
belovsky.1@nd.edu
Biology
Community Ecology & Conservation Biology

Ed Bensman
ebensman@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Climate & hurricane modeling

Melissa Berke
mberke@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Climate variability & global change

Susan Blum
sblum@nd.edu
Anthropology
Chinese Society; Food & Culture

Tobias Boes
tboes@nd.edu
German Language & Literature
Poetics of the Anthropocene; Environmentalism in German culture

Catherine Bolten
cbolten@nd.edu
Anthropology & Peace Studies
Chimpanzee conservation & bushmeat market

Joan Brennecke
jfb@nd.edu
Chemical Engineering
Carbon Sequestration

Aimee Buccellato
abuccellato@nd.edu
Architecture
Sustainable Design & Materials

Leo Burke
lburke1@nd.edu
Executive Education
Climate Investing

Peter Burns
pburns@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering; cSEND
Nuclear energy

Elizabeth Capdevielle
ecapdevi@nd.edu
Writing & Rhetoric
Experiential learning in sustainable agriculture

Annie Coleman
acolema3@nd.edu
American Studies
American Wilderness

Jon Coleman
jcolema2@nd.edu
History
Environmental History

Sandra Collins
scollin1@nd.edu
Management
Corporate Sustainability Reporting

Ann-Marie Conrado
aconrado@nd.edu
Design
Sustainable Product Design

Sheila Christopher
sheila.christopher@nd.edu
Environmental Change Initiative
Watershed hydrology and biogeochemistry

Celia Deane-Drummond
cdeanedr@nd.edu
Theology
Environmental Ethics

Anselma Dolcich-Ashley
adolcich@nd.edu
Theology
Theology of Nature

Kyle Doudrick
kdoudric@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Sustainable water treatment

Terry Ehrman, C.S.C.
tehrman1@nd.edu
Theology / ICL
Science & Theology

David Flagel
dflagel@nd.edu
Biology
Terrestrial Ecology

Haifeng Gao
hgao@nd.edu
Chemistry  
Polymer design

Donna Glowacki
dglowack@nd.edu
Anthropology
Archaeology of migration & environmental context

David Go
dgo@nd.edu
Mechanical Engineering
Energy-efficient computing & building design

Melinda Gormley
gormley.6@nd.edu
Reilly Center
Scientists as political activists; Science policy

Vijay Gupta
vgupta2@nd.edu
Electrical Engineering
Smart infrastructure systems, monitoring, estimation & control

Chris Hamlin
chamlin@nd.edu
History
British environmental history

Amy Hixon
ahixon@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Environmental Aquatic Chemistry

George Howard
howard.2@nd.edu
Psychology
Environmental psychology

Bruce Huber
bhuber@nd.edu
Law
Environmental & natural resource law

Vlad Iluc
viluc@nd.edu
Chemistry  
Synthesis of new energy sources

Debra Javeline
javeline@nd.edu
Political Science
Politics of Adapting to Climate Change

Prashant Kamat
pkamat@nd.edu
Chemistry  
Solar Photovoltaics

Ken Kuno
mkuno@nd.edu
Chemistry  
Solar Nanotechnology

Gary Lamberti
glambert@nd.edu
Biology
Stream & Wetland Ecology

Michael Lemmon
lemmon@nd.edu
Electrical Engineering
Networked control systems & civil infrastructure

Patrick Martin
pmartin@nd.edu
Romance Languages & Literatures
Local Ecologies

Jason McLachlan
jmclachl@nd.edu
Biology
Forest Ecology & Paleoecology

Jessica McManus Warnell
jmcmanus@nd.edu
Management
Business Ethics & Sustainability

Sam Miller
smille27@nd.edu
Management
Business of Energy

Marc Muller
mmuller1@nd.edu 
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Hydrology & Water Resources

Patrick Murphy
pmurphy1@nd.edu
Marketing
Business Ethics

John Nagle
jnagle1@nd.edu
Law
Environmental Law & Policy

Darcia Narvaez
dnarvaez@nd.edu
Psychology
Moral cognition & development

Clive Neal
cneal@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Global Change, Water & Energy

Rob Nerenberg
rnerenbe@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Wastewater treatment

Rachel Novick
rnovick@nd.edu
Biology
Minor in Sustainability

Margie Pfeil
mpfeil1@nd.edu
Theology
Environment & Catholic Social Teaching

Pat Regan
pregan3@nd.edu
Political Science & Peace Studies
Armed conflict & Climate change

Terry Rettig
trettig@nd.edu
Physics
Earth and climate science

Adrian Rocha
arocha1@nd.edu
Biology
Terrestrial Ecology; Fire Ecology

Kim Rollings
krolling@nd.edu
Architecture
Built environment & public health and well-being

Phil Sakimoto
psakimot@nd.edu
FYS
Climate Change Education for the Public

Samantha Salden
ssalden1@nd.edu
Architecture
Nature and the Built Environment

Roy Scranton
rscranto@nd.edu
English
Fiction & Nonfiction Writing on the Environment

Tony Serianni
aseriann@nd.edu
Chemistry  
Sustainability: Principles & Practices

Ashish Sharma
asharma7@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Urban sustainability & climate modeling 

Joshua Shrout
jshrout@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Environmental Microbiology

Antonio Simonetti
asimonet@nd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Tracing of environmental pollutants; nuclear forensics

John Sitter
jsitter@nd.edu
English
Literature and Ecology

Kerstin Strom
kstrom@nd.edu
Design
Sustainable Design    

Jen Tank
tank.1@nd.edu
Biology
Stream Ecology & Biogeochemistry

Julia Thomas
jthomas2@nd.edu
History
Little Ice Age; Impact of climate on history

Sandra Vera-Munoz
sveramun@nd.edu
Accountancy
Corporate Sustainability Reporting

Laura Walls
lwalls@nd.edu
English
Thoreau; American Transcendentalism

Susanne Wengle
swengle@nd.edu
Political Science
Agriculture & Market Regulation

Oliver Williams, C.S.C.
owilliam@nd.edu
Management
UN Global Compact

Mark Wistey
mwistey@nd.edu
Electrical Engineering
Solar Photovoltaics; Energy Sources and Conversion